You Are a Writer: A Story in Two Voices

22 Jan

You are a writer.

I am a writer?

You write one word.

I can write one word. That’s easy.

You write another word.

Yep, two words. Got it.

You have your own special words.

Those are some good words.

You write a sentence.

I can do that. Start with a capital. End with a period. Easy Peasy.

You write a trio of sentences.

Three sentences. This is getting harder.

There are details, subjects, verbs and a few adjectives.

There sure are. I did that.

You write a paragraph.

I did write a paragraph. That wasn’t so bad.

The next paragraph arrives on the page with a splash and you whisper “cool” to your pencil.

Wow, this is cool. 

The words pour out of your pencil.

Nothing to it.

Then they stop.

I’ve got nothing left.

You wait. The words are gone, hiding out. You rub your forehead to bring them back. You drink some apple juice, eat some potato chips. You watch TV. You play some video games.

I don’t want to be a writer. It is too hard. Video games are so much more fun. I am not a writer.

But you are. You wake up at night and switch on the desk lamp. You look for your pencil and paper.

Got the pencil and paper.

The words are back.

I’m writing like crazy.

They jump onto the page. Some are so fast. You scribble them down and they are messy.

Oh pencil lead, don’t break now.

The paragraphs get together for a party and they make a story.

Wow, I wrote a story.

You wrote a word.

It was easy.

You wrote a sentence.

It got harder.

You wrote a paragraph.

Sometimes it was very difficult.

You wrote a story.

I wrote a fantastic story.

You are a writer.

I am a writer.

Leave a Reply

